Thanksgiving 2011

Of course we’re not going to skip celebrating Thanksgiving! Some are wondering why the kids were actually in school Thursday and Friday…and to that I just want to remind you that it’s an American holiday – HA!!. Everyone here knows about it, but sadly, it’s not observed. But, I do have to say, I love the tradition. I love the memories of celebrating over a huge meal at my Grandmas house. I love the traditional food; I crave it on that day. (For instance, I like pumpkin pie but normally don’t give it a second thought the rest of the year. However, for the last 4 days, I have been absolutely craving it.) But most importantly, I love the tradition of a whole day set a side and designed for pausing to give thanks. Sometimes I feel like I’m missing the point because a lot of what I am thankful for seems common and generic. I’m so thankful for my family; an incredible wife and 3 really great kids. I’m thankful for the health we have now. I know I’m blessed because of so many things. However, I know that all of these things that I’m thankful for and more are just scratching the surface of what I should be thankful for. God’s blessings on my life are more than I could ever understand. One day is not enough to say thank you to God, and it is merely a symbolic day of what I hope every day turns out to be. This year, as I thought about all of the things in my life, I solely reflected on one of my favorite verses in the Bible found in the book of James: “Every good and perfect gift comes from the Lord…”

 

One big group of Americans celebrating together!

On the day, we had 7 kids in the house aged 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, and 1

 

Of course we had a massive turkey...a 17 pounder! And it. Was. Delicious.

 

The whole spread...turkey, stuffing, sweet potato casserole...all the stuff you could ever hope for

 

And of course...Pumpkin pie. It wouldn't be Thanksgving without it!

Leave a Reply

