Realizing a dream…well, almost.

I’m traveling in Wales this week, and having a great time with a group of students. We stopped at a very popular destination, known for it being a town with a very long name. Well, in the tourist shop was a little man holding something I thought I’d recognized. – indeed, it was what I thought. He had one of the 8,000 officially commissioned Olympic torches for this years’ games, and in fact, had been the representative to carry the torch locally as it passed through. It was neat to hear his experience of carrying it, and what it meant to him. The cool thing is, he let me hold it for a moment. One of my dreams growing up was to be an Olympic athlete…one obviously that did not get fulfilled. To this day, I’m still crazy about the Olympics. Holding the torch though, even for a moment, was incredibly neat for me.

Here’s my pic:

20120712-192748.jpg

Leave a Reply

