The Boys of Summer…

One of the greatest things about being in Arizona in February is because this is the time of year when baseball gets underway. In Florida and Arizona, all the pro teams report for Spring Training to get ready for the season. The atmosphere is great though…and the players are accessible in ways they’re not during the season at actual games. The house we’re staying at is very close to where two teams have their training, so we all dropped by to watch. Now…you have to know that one of these teams is my favorite teams’ (the Diamondbacks) bitter rivals: the Dodgers. So…what do I do? I wear my teams’ jersey and put Isaac in Diamondbacks jerseys to go down and hang out among the Dodger fans. I really felt like I was walking in a den of lions, but it was all in good fun. Overall, it was a fun morning though. I mean, first and foremost I’m a fan of the game of baseball, so just being there is fun enough. While I kid about ‘hating’ opposing teams, I have no real dislike for anyone, and am a fan of the game above all, and a fan of players that play the game at an amazing level. So getting to see some of them was just fantastic, no matter what uniform they were wearing. But, standing in almost 70 degree heat (about 18C) and watching some baseball. It was pretty close to perfect.

One of my heroes as a kid. Don "Donny Baseball" Mattingly. He was a fantastic player in his day.

One of my heroes as a kid. Don “Donny Baseball” Mattingly. He was a fantastic player in his day.

Couple of players coming out for practice...the two on the left will make about $25 Million combined this season...

Couple of players coming out for practice…the two on the left will make about $25 Million combined this season…

 

Pic of the players warming up before practice

Pic of the players warming up before practice

 

Another couple of great players. The one on the right is one of my favorites in the game today, Adrien Gonzalez. I didn't get a shot of it, but he came over (after ignoring all the other fans) and gave all my kids a high 5!

Another couple of great players. The one on the right is one of my favorites in the game today, Adrien Gonzalez. I didn’t get a shot of it, but he came over (after ignoring all the other fans) and gave all my kids a high 5!

 

The players sometimes actually have to walk through fans to get to the field...

The players sometimes actually have to walk through fans to get to the field…

 

And some of them get mobbed for autographs. This player is one of the best pitchers in the game so he was pretty popular.

And some of them get mobbed for autographs. This player is one of the best pitchers in the game so he was pretty popular.

 

While hanging out, I was staging my own spring training...teaching the girls how to eat sunflower seeds properly.

While hanging out, I was staging my own spring training…teaching the girls how to eat sunflower seeds properly.

 

Great moment...one of the starting pitchers came over and shook the kids hands...and I got a pic of it!

Great moment…one of the starting pitchers came over and shook the kids hands…and I got a pic of it!

 

Leave a Reply

