Just an incredible moment – meeting a legend.

Wow! Tonight was incredible!! Me and my brothers’ family went out for dinner. As we were getting settled in, Jen turned to me and said, “Hey…doesn’t that guy look like…” and before she could finish I’d turned my head and saw him. Tommy Lasorda was sitting two tables away. I know that some of you who read this won’t know who that is, which is fine…(here’s his Wikipedia page…but suffice to say that he’s a pretty famous guy in baseball circles.)

Well, I couldn’t pass up the chance at meeting him. I canvased a couple of the waiters to see what the deal was, and I was assured he was a really friendly guy and open to talking with fans. So I approached him and was able to shake his hand, and tell him how much I admired him as a coach. Really a great experience. Well, as it happened when we were leaving, I was walking holding hands with Cailyn and he made us stop and talk some more. He chatted for a good long while with Cailyn and hugged all the kids, and posed for a photo with the family. It was really awesome…a surprise encounter of epic proportions!

Talking with Cailyn. He asked if he could be her boyfriend!!! (And commented he was brave for asking in front of her dad!) :)

Talking with Cailyn. He asked if he could be her boyfriend!!! (And commented he was brave for asking in front of her dad!) 🙂

He laughed when Isaac hugged him...he really was into it!!

He laughed when Isaac hugged him…he really was into it!!

Cool family photo, huh?

Cool family photo, huh?

 

2 thoughts on “Just an incredible moment – meeting a legend.

  1. This is AWESOME!!!!! I grew up in L.A. going to games after school and on weekends. My aunt and uncle had season tickets for years and years and years. While we sat in the $6 seats in the outfield, they sat behind homeplate. I’m so stoked for you guys. What a fun experience!!

Leave a Reply

