Beauty in a messed up world

I was getting ready to post a bunch of pictures the other day. We have tons to share from our visit to Washington DC, and then last weekend we took some friends to the Grand Canyon, so of course I have a lot from there as well. But then the bombings in Boston, and even the explosion in Texas yesterday. And that’s just what’s going on in America. There’s tons of murder, terror, war, and myriads of wrong-doings against humanity all over the world. It really has given me pause to think about things. I hate the world we live. I hate that there are so many concerns for safety. That airport screenings are really weapon containment for what should be simple transportation. That after tragedy strikes, people capitalize on it by scamming people that are trying to help out of their money like what’s going on now in the aid of Boston. Sometimes I just struggle to grasp my own thoughts. I have moments where I just want to throw my hands up and just give up; to just look out for myself and not care about the world around me. Thankfully though, most of my thoughts are of how I can help. I realize and know that I’ll likely not make a great impact on the world. I can only do so much. But I know I’m going to try. To do what I can, however small or whatever that may be.

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

– John 14:27 (ESV)

untitled-251

One thought on “Beauty in a messed up world

Leave a Reply

