An Experience of Lifetime…The Day I flew a Helicopter

Yesterday, (thanks to my absolutely incredible wife) I had the chance to take my first lesson in a helicopter. I’ve flown a plane before, and have loved all of those experiences. But I’ve always been fascinated with helicopters. The way they fly, how they’re controlled and the versatility they offer is fascinating to me and I’ve always wanted to try it. So, while we were here in the States, Jen gave me this awesome gift. The cool thing was this wasn’t just a “ride in a helicopter.” I went through about an hour instruction on how helicopters work and how they fly, and then when the time came, I actually got to fly the helicopter!! It was awesome, and I really did pretty good. The pilot took us off the ground, and got us stable, and then handed the controls off to me. From there, I was the pilot pretty much the rest of the trip, flying us over Phoenix and back to the airport for some more training. I flew, approached the airport and was all set up to land…and doing perfectly. I would have had the chance to land, but this was the first time I’d been in a helicopter at all, so he wanted to make sure I’d gone through it once before trying. Then we did some more work where he showed me how to hover, and let me try it a bit. Well, I’ll just tell you that hovering a helicopter is a lot harder than it looks and leave it at that. Most pilots take at least 5 hours of flying time before they get that down, so I didn’t feel too bad. So, all in all, I had a fantastic experience. It really was amazing, and I can’t wait until I get another chance! But for now, I was able to add 1 hour of helicopter flight time to my log book, so that’s a big plus!! I have to give Jen more props than just gifting me the lesson…she, along with my kids and my mother-in-law endured sitting in the 105° (40°Celcius) for an hour just so I could have some pictures of my experience. And I have to say, Jen got some excellent shots (and thanks to Bonnie for taking awesome video too!!) I only got a couple in the air, cause lets face it…I was flying the helicopter!!! 🙂 At any rate, here’s the pics of one of the greatest things I’ve ever done…

I had about an hour of ground school...Isaac had to bear with it all...

I had about an hour of ground school…Isaac had to bear with it all…

Checking out the helicopter making sure it was ready

Checking out the helicopter making sure it was ready

Getting everything set for start up and take off

Getting everything set for start up and take off

Off the ground!

Off the ground!

Yeah!!!!

Yeah!!!!

Getting clearance from the tower to take off. No need for a runway!

Getting clearance from the tower to take off. No need for a runway!

Me flying the helicopter!

Me flying the helicopter!

The only photo I have, taken just as I was about to fly...heading east over Phoenix

The only photo I have, taken just as I was about to fly…heading east over Phoenix

Coming in for landing...I'm flying it still right here, just a couple hundred feet up

Coming in for landing…I’m flying it still right here, just a couple hundred feet up

Trying my hand at hovering...I'm not very level am I? ha!

Trying my hand at hovering…I’m not very level am I? ha!

Coming back in. On the video they got of this, at this point, Isaac started yelling "Put Him Down!!" over and over!!!

Coming back in

Awesome!!

Awesome!!

Even more awesome...my wife!

Even more awesome…my wife!

Leave a Reply

